FO Turn a Square and stash enhancement…

I know, I know… I wasn’t supposed to begin any new projects before finishing (at least one of) the projects I’ve got going already, however it didn’t eexactly turn out that way. I couldn’t help notice the beautiful Turn a Square hat by Jared Flood on Ravelry, and apparently my husband liked it too, because he requested one right away. Since I was, and actually still am, drowning a bit in the never ending Nevis sleeves, it didn’t take much to talk me into knitting the hat. And I have to say I really enjoyed this quick knit.

I knitted it in Wilfert’s Pisa, dark brown and Noro Silk Garden colorway 248, and I love the result. The colors are amazing, however the pictures doesn’t really do them justice. The finished result is somewhere in between the above picture and the picture below.

Main thing is that he is really happy with the hat, it is very warm, it fits very well and easily covers the ears, which was a specific request.

Apart from knitting the Turn a Square, I’ve been preparing for new projects. I’ve done a little stash enhancement, I was fortunate enough to get my hands on some beautiful silk lace from Sundara (this is really exceptional yarn, not to mention the color, it is Bronzed Sienna, just beautiful). I haven’t decided what to make of this yet, for the moment I’m saving it for a special project.

Furthermore this arrived in the mail a few days later… Vogue Knitting fall 2008 (beautiful mittens), Phildar winter 2007/2008 (with several beautiful sweaters, especially a few with cables have my attention), 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces Sheperd Sock yarn in Charcoal colorway (I have a lace sock pattern in mind for these) and of course finally the Sundara silk lace.

I hope this can serve as inspiration to finish the Nevis sleeves, I just so want to finish this cardigan now… and I guess the good news is that I’m almost done with the first sleeve. Just gotta keep on knit 5 purl 2 😉 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Finished objects, Stash, Turn a Square

One response to “FO Turn a Square and stash enhancement…

  1. The hat came out beautiful! I love those colours.

    And the Sundara yarn… I think I’m about to faint.

Leave a Reply

